Let’s talk touring bikes

Discussion in 'General' started by Scotty87, Sep 17, 2018.

1. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

I think it was a normal Hyper with bags from Ducati but not sure. As for touring - totally depends on the rider really. It's so much better than any bike I had when I started riding it's not funny, but I'm old and fat now and much prefer the Multi. Granted if I do distance type stuff the boss is usually with and the Mutli is the two up bike no matter what.

2. I ordered the Ducati Comfort seat. But in the past I’ve just taken the seat to an upholstery place.

They remove the cover, add 3:4-1” of foam, the staple it back in place.

It works great, makes it more comfortable, and only costs like $30.

3. That’s more of a “day trip” bike. I would ride it 200 miles or so, but I wouldn’t head cross country on it.

4. condon66

condon66 Member well known

I'll wear biking shorts if I'm going for more than a couple hours. I have a stock seat that starts to be a pain in the ass after about 50 miles. The biking shorts really make a difference.

5. worthless

worthless Well-Known Member

I said Hyper, meant Multi

6. I wear my same racing Knox undershorts when I take trips. Not only are they armored, but being spandex they keep my junk from bouncing around.

I take gear seriously on the street also. People are idiots.

I wear riding jeans that are 14oz denim with Kevlar lining and knee armor built in. Then I wear those Knox undershorts that have hip, thigh, assbone armor.

Then an Alpinestars jacket with back and chest protectors built in, Alpinestars SMX-2 boots, Bell Star helmet, and Knox or Alpinestars gloves.

My helmet, jacket, even gloves and boots have that really bright highlighter yellow color in the scheme.

BigBird likes this.
  7. sharkattack

sharkattack Rescued pets over people. All day, every day