Separated shoulder.....fml

Discussion in 'General' started by mike-guy, Dec 3, 2017.

1. JBall

JBall REALLY senior member

I have a third degree separation from a Nelson crash about 12 years ago. My orthopedic guy recommended against surgery because it can cause more problems later on including arthritis. I was in a sling for a couple of days and I went to one rehab session where I was lifting one pound weights which seemed stupid so I just started using it again. No permanent issues except for the cool bump on my shoulder and the weird internal noises others have commented about.

SWAT_Spyder76 likes this.
  2. JBraun

JBraun Well-Known Member

I think it was well over a year before it was 100%. I was back in the gym in two weeks doing really light work, like range of motion stuff and 5-10 lb dumbbells. I think it was helpful, but excruciating. It took forever to have any strength at all. I rode within a couple of months, but with a lot of pain. It’s a tough recovery for sure.

I can remember it being incredibly painful to bench press any more than the bar or do a push-up. Oddly, overhead strength came back more quickly than pressing strength. Just be patient and let pain be your guide. Find the line between inflammation and healing pain, and overuse/damage pain.

3. Sweatypants

Sweatypants I am so smart! S-M-R-T... I mean S-M-A-R-T!

i OTB on a bicycle and did mine in back in like 2007 or so. walked home 7 miles. tried to sleep it off. rolled over on it the next morning and almost threw up in my bed and decided i should drive myself to the hospital. sling for a little, rehab'd myself by working thru a bunch of stretches and slowly building back strength. just stretch it a lot, if you let it heal tight, it'll be tight forever, range of motion stretching is key... and it'll hurt some.