1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ZX7 vs YZF

Discussion in 'General' started by omnivore, Nov 14, 2008.

1. omnivore

omnivore Well-Known Member

SO My local track is doing a 4 weekend series this upcoming season. 2 weekends will be sprints, and 2 weekends will be Endurance (3 hrs)...Club Racing, Low pressure, low cost, loose rule structure. Any mods, any tires. Very welcoming to newbs.

Classes-
    Superbike
    Twins *
    Formula Two Stroke *
    Clubman Challenge (Air Cooled) *
    Lost Era (Min 12 years) *
    Vintage (Min 20 years) *
    Lightweights
    Rookie Cup (Under six races)
    Old Boys Club (Over 40 years old)
    Sidecars (select rounds)
    * Classes that will be sub divided

NOTE:
    I have no track experience other than Phases 1,2,&3 at FAST Race School. So I don't mind riding smaller bike up a class for more time and experience, and have no fanatasies of being champ etc. Just want to try my hand at racing before I get too old to learn it, or heal from possible injuries,LOL

I am choosing between two bikes that will allow me to run or choose from multiple classes.
    89 ZX7( slip on, race glass, prepped Vintage Racer, no mods to suspension or engine, and 96 YZF 600, light crash victim street bike..bone stock.

Looking for input from veterans as per my bike choices.

2. JamesG

JamesG Architeuthis dux

The ZX7 is probably the better bet. The YZF is a "better" younger bike, but getting it sorted out and prepped can be time consuming and expensive.

3. omnivore

I should also have noted that another reason I included the YZF is that I am only 5'4" 155 lbs, and very short inseam (29"). I had a 94 ZX7 two yrs ago, and although it handled well, it took muscle. Bike bike, and the bars were so far away I couldn't look over my shoulder without letting go of one handlebar.