1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Used helmets

Discussion in 'General' started by TrackStar, Oct 26, 2015.

1. TrackStar

TrackStar www.trackstar1.com

Anyone have an issue with selling used helmets? I have a bunch of Demo's that have about an hour in them. We cleaned and inspected them and they are 99.9% brand new condition.

I'll list them up in the for sale's if there isnt some weird unwritten law against selling them.

2. Yama-saurus

Yama-saurus Well-Known Member

I sold rep samples for many years.
    Was always clear and up front and never had any issues.

3. 2Fer

2Fer Is good

From a liability stand point not just no, but hell no, but I'm not a lawyer. YMMV

4. rd400racer

rd400racer Well-Known Member

I realize you're a dealer so the implications are different, but I bought my last two Arai's that were barely used from guys here and I would be interested in what you have.

I say list them up in the classifieds, one racer selling to another.

5. TrackStar

They are listed. If I didnt know the exact history on all of them I wouldnt even think about it. I sold them new, I also service all of his bikes and know how many miles have been put on the gear since it was new. I feel more than confident that the stuff is in 99% condition minus a bug gut or 2 in a vent.

6. HPPT

HPPT !!!

That won't matter if someone wants to sue.

7. TrackStar

For what?

Serious question.

People sell used everythings every day. I dont think there is any additional liability on anyone for doing it if the buyer knows the product is used unless they could prove negligence of some sort.

People buy used race bikes, if they crash them could they sue?

Last edited: Oct 26, 2015
  8. deathwagon

deathwagon Well-Known Member

It's not always about winning or losing. The cost of defending a lawsuit, frivolous or not, can bury a business.

That said, I've bought several used lids. But I have a $10 head.

9. HPPT