1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tax experts, quick question on 1099-INT and 1099-MISC

Discussion in 'General' started by DrA5, Mar 5, 2020.

1. DrA5

DrA5 The OTHER Great Dane

I am an independent contractor and get all my income reported on 1099-MISC from my various clients. One issued me a 1099-INT form by mistake for the work I did for them in 2019, instead of it being on a 1099-MISC form. I did reach out to them for correction/clarification, but as its a huge entity, I doubt I'll get a response and I'd like to move forward with my taxes.

As I can support it was misc income for work I did and not interest from any account with them, can I just go ahead and report it in my tax software program where I enter in all the rest of my 1099-MISC forms, instead of the area where it asked for 1099-INT income? I mean, its still income no matter where its reported.

Thanks in advance.

2. nigel smith

nigel smith Well-Known Member

You could always contact the IRS and ask for help, but I imagine that would not be a timely solution. I have never been asked to clarify any 1099 income. I think that the worst that could happen is that you get a letter from the IRS asking to explain the discrepancy. Since you are attempting to accurately account for your income, you should be fine. I have received multiple letters from them over the years, and , contrary to popular opinion, they have always been helpful in clarifying any issues.

R1M370 and Boman Forklift like this.
  3. Jedb

Jedb Professional Novice :-)

I'd put it in the 1099-MISC line, make a note of it yourself, print out whatever communication you had with the company to get it rectified, and leave it in the folder incase the IRS gets interested.

As Nigel said, most times the rank & file folks that do the work are actually helpful.

4. R Acree

R Acree Banned