1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuffing the corner?

Discussion in 'General' started by Nytrozula, Aug 10, 2018.

1. Nytrozula

Nytrozula Well-Known Member

What does it mean to "stuff" someone in the corner? I am fairly new to track riding and started riding in the advanced group and hear this term thrown around a bit. If it has anything to do with a tight inside pass on a corner then nobody is listening to the "no stuffing" rule! I am for the most part track riding for enjoyment but it seems like others are out there for a race or at least race practice.

2. Stuffing means you dive up underneath someone on corner entry. It is also commonly known as a “block pass”.

Those passes are very common in racing (and often times the only way to pass someone). They are no big deal and are part of it.

Those passes are also common at track days in the Advanced group.

If you do not like being passed on the inside on corner entry, then I would suggest staying in Novice or Intermediate where those passes are less likely (and technically forbidden).

But since this is a racing forum, you will be hard pressed to find sympathy for your aggravation about being stuffed. Some of us do it often at track days when riding with buddies, even when it isn’t necessary, because it is funny.

3. kman0066

kman0066 Well-Known Member

I don't think of inside passes as stuffing, but maybe that's just me. To me, it's running an "alternate" line that forces the other rider way off line/take aggressive action to avoid crashing into the other person, usually because of someone trying to run a tight inside line I suppose, but running out of talent in the middle of it and going off the traditional paths. A good inside pass causing the other rider to change their line is cool, a Marquez I'll nearly use you as a berm inside pass, that's stuffing to me.

4. stangmx13

stangmx13 Well-Known Member