1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small bike for both dirt and kart tracks

Discussion in 'Mini Racing' started by aftriathlete, May 14, 2017.

1. aftriathlete

aftriathlete Well-Known Member

Hey guys, I've always been a creeper here but never posted. Curious to hear opinions on a small bike recommendation. I'm an Expert racer at Arroyo, and I have a little junker stock 2005 CRF150F that I thrashed around on last summer. I have Musselman's Honda Circuit kart track, a pretty nice track that holds AMA Sumo events, and their whole dirt facility with a couple MX tracks, a small flat track oval, and some trails right close by here in Tucson, so I'm thinking about getting a small-ish bike to take advantage of all those. Any recommendations? I don't believe there are any direct swap OEM suspension improvements from other bikes for the 150F, and I'm not eager to dump thousands of dollars into an old junker that I only spent $500 on to begin with. Instead of throwing money at this old bike that needs just about everything, I'm thinking something newer, maybe even 2-stroke, with an asphalt wheel/tire set and a dirt wheel/tire set would be a ton of fun. Or am I crazy and there are actually a lot of options with the 150F that I just don't know about?

2. pscook

pscook Well-Known Member

Race bike or play bike? For race, find out what class limits are, your 150F may be the hot ticket. For play? CRF150R.

3. aftriathlete

Kind of both. The motocross series at Musselman's is a 85 2T and 150 4T class, so 150Rs are allowed in the same class as the 150F. So I don't think anyone rides the 150F. At the same time, I'm not buying it for the express purpose of racing, more just riding and training. But knowing myself, track days turned into racing so I would probably want to race it as well.

4. sharky nrk

sharky nrk Rubber Side Up