1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

School me on retirement plans

Discussion in 'General' started by redtailracing, Dec 9, 2020.

1. redtailracing

redtailracing gone tuna fishin'

So I currently have a 401K that I've been contributing to for about 10 years. For the most part, I've done so rather blindly, just contributing the maximum of my employer's match. I'll check on it on occasion, see what's in there, how much it's grown, etc. I moved it to some more aggressive investments a few years ago per some research and suggestions, given my age, which seems to have paid off when I look at my growth versus the average for my demographic. But this is the extent of it. I'm not even completely sure how it all works but doing some math today using some online resources, analyzing my current finances against financial goals, etc., it seems the option of retirement at say 55 wouldn't be out of the question if I could access those funds at that time. But as I understand it, withdrawing from a 401K before 65 makes you subject to a bunch of penalties that take a huge chunk out of it. So what other options are there? I've only heard of things like IRAs but have no idea how they work and what trade-offs you make going that route. For reference, I'm 31 now so I have some time to make things happen but I know it's smart to plan for retirement your whole career.

Gorilla George likes this.
  2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Find a good money person to help you out. It's worth paying them. I've got a great one if you want his info.

CRA_Fizzer likes this.
  3. redtailracing

Sure, I appreciate it. That was my intention eventually but wanted to kind of wrap my head around all of it first before talking to someone who may stand to benefit from swaying me in one direction that wasn't necessarily best for me.

4. Dan Dubeau

Dan Dubeau Well-Known Member