1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Removing Steering stem nut from 09 gsxr 600

Discussion in 'Tech' started by quickscoot, Aug 16, 2009.

1. quickscoot

quickscoot Well-Known Member

Ok I'd be all over someone who asked a question like this but....
    Is there a trick to getting the steering stem nut off my '09 GSXR 600..what size is the nut?
    I'm no mechanic but I've stripped and rebuilt numerous track bikes in the last 20 years and this one is stumping me.
    I was looking for the magnetic key but there doesn't seem to be one and I can't seem to get it to budge.
    What am I missing??m Please don't tell me that if I can't get the nut off I shouldn't be riding the bike..cause that is what I'd say.

2. antor1

antor1 Well-Known Member

I think I use a size 32 socket if I remember correctly

3. piper907

piper907 Well-Known Member

36... same as the rear axle. no tricks.

4. PAzYearazzUP

PAzYearazzUP Banned

The trick is to use a 1/2" breaker bar and extend the handle where you push and load then back off of the nut is get a rhythm going. You do not push the socket over the flats and round them on one full throw is do not.

Use that painter's blue tape around the nut so you take up the slack in the socket. This moves the flat farther away from the socket that is about to round it off, especially if the socket is not a 6-point, but a 12-point.

I am pointing out if your 32 slash 36 mm socket is not used, but an American size fits kind of backyard mechanic? Yeah, you load the slop not tear it off kind of cheater me beater.

5. Mavspire

Mavspire Well-Known Member

Are you talking about the gold nut on top of the triple?? That should just need a 32mm socket on a long ratchet/breaker bar. Turn the handlebars to the left (full lock) and then give it a tug ....it should come right off.