1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ohlins | ya 305 preset/sag | remote question

Discussion in 'Tech' started by rico750, Jul 6, 2010.

1. rico750

rico750 Well-Known Member

I got a ohlins ya 305 on my R6 see pic:

http://www.hardracing.com/images/Ohlins_YA305.JPG

with the remote adjuster i can move the preload up and down.. but is there a way to turn the ring as well and bring the whole thing within the the correct preload setting/correct sag and then just use the remote adjuster to fine tune? Im just new to this type of shock.. and was wondering what to do if we cant get the shock in sag-range even with the correct spring. And if the ring/unit can be turned down and or up does the shock need to come off the bike for that or can i do it on the bike?

Thanks for the input guys!

Rico

2. gixxerboy55

gixxerboy55 Well-Known Member

Don't worry the shock should come with the correct static preload.If you have a problem getting the right sag you will probaly need a differant spring. How much do you weigh.

3. rico750

so you think correct preload should be set just by the remote adjuster?

i'm 215Lbs and the spring the spring should be for a 200lbs person.. i can get the spring number later.

4. Vitamin-E

Vitamin-E cornerin lo in the 3-1-fo

Yes, the "ring" (aka jam nut) can be turned to move the hydraulic adjuster down the shock body which will increase the baseline pre-load (make the lowest setting higher...). There is a spec for the installed spring height. You should check this with Ohlins. I just looked at my YA505 spec sheet and it says "spring pre-load: 10 mm". I'm not sure if they are saying to draw the spring down 10mm from free length or what...go the Ohlins website and write the tech support. You'll get an answer within 48 hours.