1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New rider help.

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by stirlingkeeney, Aug 26, 2018.

1. stirlingkeeney

stirlingkeeney New Member

I'm sure this question has been asked before so I apologize in advance. I was wondering what bike would be good to start racing on. I've riding a 600 supersport on streets for 4 years now, but I haven't taken it to a track day yet. Having said that I'm a complete newbie to the track. My father is telling me that I should start on 250 or 300 to learn the art of racing before moving up to a 600. He also says the 600cc class is where all the brand new riders go to get hurt or killed. My problem with that is the 250cc class seems pretty small up here in the midwest and I feel like I'm too big for a 250 bike. I am 6 foot and 190lbs. So I guess what I'm saying is that I'm afraid I won't have much fun on a smaller bike. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

3. dobr24

dobr24 Well-Known Member

Nailed it first try!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

track wagon likes this.
  4. Dave Wolfe

Dave Wolfe I know nuttin!

Where r u at? If Chicago area, you'd be racing with CCS most likely. I dont think there is anyone left with a 250. Theres a few 250 chassis with 300 motors. Im 6' and 240 and race the 300 / 500 classes. Youd be fine at 190. Chicago area track days suck on a small bike. Less popular places (omaha / topeka) are much more fun.

track wagon likes this.
  5. Jon Wilkens

Jon Wilkens Well-Known Member

SV650. A great bike to learn on, and more than fast enough when you DO learn how to go fast on a slow bike.

Agree that the 600 novice class is a bit nuts...seen several instances of ambition overriding talent. I'd love to ride 600s...but not in that crowd.

track wagon likes this.
  6. stirlingkeeney

stirlingkeeney New Member