1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need some tips regarding buying track bike

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by autobahn70, Feb 24, 2011.

1. autobahn70

autobahn70 Member

Hey All,

I'm looking to get into this whole track riding ordeal and make it a hobby. I did the CA Superbike School in New Jersey last year and now I'm hooked. I have all the equipment except for a bike. What I am trying to figure out is what bike I should get that will give me the most bang for my buck. Since I am just starting out, I would like to get a 600 sport bike that is also street legal. Right now I am currently looking at a 2003 R6, great condition, but 21,000 miles (asking $4100). I'd just like to hear people's opinions, like if I would be better off buying something with less miles (I really don't know when engine components start to go bad in a bike).

Thanks for the input,

Ryan

2. cMac

cMac Conservatively Libral

4100 I would get somthing newer. you can get an 06 for that. depending on mods and prep. Thats a rack of miles too for that price.

3. Razr

Razr Well-Known Member

I'm with Cmac.....seems high.

4. kenessex

kenessex unregistered user

SV650 track bike, something else for the street. Keep the two separate. You can probably find 2 SVs for 4100 if you shop around.

Ken

5. Racer45

Racer45 old guy just tryin'

All the street crap is going to make it cost more. Get a track only bike and you can get something much newer like everyone else is saying that is ready to go.

6. MYZ1K

MYZ1K Well-Known Member

+1....keep your eyes peeled on here and buy a bike that's already prepped and save yourself some coin.

Unless you're like me and get just as much enjoyment out of building a bike as you do riding it.

7. autobahn70

autobahn70 Member