1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for input on a how to help a 16 yr old who wants to try road racing?

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by Josh Mervis, Dec 2, 2020.

1. Josh Mervis

Josh Mervis Member

I am looking for advice/input on how to help my son, who is 16, try to learn road racing?

He's got dirt bike experience, woods riding/racing, but is new to pavement, but he's non-stop asking to try to learn road racing. I've put him off, but it appears he's got his goal set. Grades were met, so I have to follow thru.

I have NO experience in racing, I understand highly competitive athletics, having worked in sports for the past 26 years, but while I enjoy riding my various street and dirt bikes - I can offer nothing to help him, other than support, insistence on the best protective gear, making sure he takes this "in steps, and proper order, not rushing or doing things above his skill level", and that he has to be in great physical shape.

I have explained to him that it's far more dangerous than woods riding, and his Varsity wrestling team.

Beyond that input, I can only ask for advice, and try to find people who have the knowledge and experience to teach, show the way.

Any and all suggestions are sought?

Even if your post is to provide more questions for us to think about, we need the input.

Thank you in advance, and stay safe, and healthy.

JM

2. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

check out the mini racing forum here. WERA hosts mini rounds at full sized tracks. Probably the least expensive way to get into racing without overwhelming expense. Also a great training tool for progressing riding skill.

DmanSlam and Josh Mervis like this.
  3. Numlock

Numlock Well-Known Member

Riding class/school/coach.