1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lookin for a place to start

Discussion in 'General' started by racergrrrl, Apr 17, 2002.

1. racergrrrl

racergrrrl Member

hi y'all. i'm new to ALL of this, but i'm in love with racing already!! i don't even really know how to find some of the information i want, i read through most of the posts on here to learn stuff. I want to know where and/or what people did when they first started racing. i'm looking to buy a bike, hopefully within the year. if anyone has information for me i'd really appreciate it. thanks guys [​IMG]

2. YamahaRick

YamahaRick Yamaha Two Stroke Czar

3. whizzif

whizzif Well-Known Member

What kind of bikes are you looking at? You will have to take a riders school (around $350) in order to get your license (around $100). After your riders school you will have to make sure everything is safety wired (brake caliper bolts, oil drain, filler cap, axel nuts/axel, oil filter, all radiator hose fittings, basically anything that could vibrate loose). Personally, I'd buy a cheap starter bike that has already been race prepped. My instructors once told me, you should have a bike out there that you wouldn't be willing to put a stick of dynamite under!! hehee...so...

You'll need good leathers/helmet, gloves, boots, back protector of course.

4. racergrrrl

racergrrrl Member

thanks for the site.....and i have no idea what kind of bike i'm looking for...when i say i'm new to this i really mean it!!! [​IMG] i just went to my first race and totally fell in love with racing. i'm about as new as they get i guess

[This message has been edited by racergrrrl (edited 04-17-2002).]

5. SpongeBob WeaselPants

SpongeBob WeaselPants Bohemian Ass-Clown

come to a race weekend, ask lots of questions

6. Paige

Paige BBS FF Champ

Racergrrl, do you own a bike now? How much riding experience do you have?

7. RoadRacerX

RoadRacerX Jesus Freak