1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

K7 Steering Damper Issues..?

Discussion in 'General' started by Crash1k, Jun 22, 2007.

1. Crash1k

Crash1k Well-Known Member

I am having a pretty serious issue with my GSXR and tank slappers.
    I just got the bike about a month ago and am prepping it for the track. Going to hopefully take the new racer school in Fontana in a couple weeks. This is my first time racing, have been riding for a gazillion years and done tons of track days.
    I have changed out the front sprocket for 1 less, put on a full Leo Vince System, and not that this part is too relavant, but just so you guys are aware of it, I swapped the throttle tube for an '04 R1 tube. After these changes, the front is a pain to keep down. (I'm 155 lbs.) I haven't got the bike on the track yet, but have been breaking it in on the streets.
    It seems the front over the slightest imperfection is getting headshake, and occasionally, it's gone into a couple really bad tank slappers. 3 in 2 weeks. They happen when on the gas hard and and hit a little bump or something in the road. 2 of them had me thinking I was going down for sure, but have been able to ride all of them out so far.
    I just ordered a Ohlins shaft style damper, but I don't think that is the anwser to my problems.. I think there might be some suspension and or geomtry set-up issue somewhere too..? Is it possible that this bike is just going to be like this due to the fact that front wheel is always so light?
    I had an '04 1k before this bike and put 53,000 hard miles on it and never had issues like this..
    Please help, any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Oh, and for now I'm still running the OEM BT015's and haven't touched the suspension aside from going 3 clicks more on the rebound up front.

2. Smokes35

Smokes35 Well-Known Member