1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP WITH Upgrade: Rims or Forks

Discussion in 'Tech' started by redphu, Nov 15, 2008.

1. redphu

redphu Well-Known Member

Hi everyone, I'm in need of some good, sound advice. Newbie here has got to get his spending under control, so if you had a choice, would you go with getting rims or forks (spring vs. cartridge).

I want to be able to use and feel the chosen upgrade right away. For those who are recommending forks, please provide opinion on spring vs. cartridge for a newbie rider.

Thanks everyone.

2. peakpowersports

peakpowersports Well-Known Member

Forks will lower lap times way more than wheels will. Springs/valves on a budget, if you have more, get cartridge.

3. rolandk

rolandk Warm-up lap winner

Do you really NEED either? No.

Good, sound advice would be spend your money on track days. When/if your skills advance to the point that your wheels and stock suspension are holding you back, then upgrade.

4. adamm07

adamm07 Well-Known Member

Last year I paid approx $500 to have a guy go though my forks on an 04 gsxr. He put in the right springs (I'm a fatass), some mods to the stock internals, and a general service. I could feel a major improvement the first lap I turned. I'm sure an Ohlins 25mm kit would be great, but I don't know if I could even tell the difference, and they are pricey.

I'd love the look of some aftermarket wheels but I've got about a dozen better things do do with that $2000+.

I run upper I group with NESBA, so I'm no hero (or racer), but I'd surely go with a modest fork rebuild and hit the track.

Best of luck,
    Adam

5. redphu

redphu Well-Known Member

upgrade

Point taken, thanks for all the good advice.

6. emachine

emachine Well-Known Member

i went with frt springs and valves and fluid on the 06 r6 was a bitch to do but even with stk rear shock it was a huge change
    i used all traxxion parts

7. iceman017