1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going to Japan

Discussion in 'General' started by Mechdziner714, Sep 7, 2012.

1. Mechdziner714

Mechdziner714 More Gas Less Brakes

I just got word this am I'm headed 1 1/2 hour drive north of Nagoya, Japan next week. Ive traveled to Europe and Australia before but this is my first time to that particular part of the planet. I know very little about Japanese culture so this should be very interesting. I would normally rent a car, but apparently in Japan you need an international DL to drive there and there is no time to get one, so taxis or trains will by my only transport.

Anyone got any idea if there is any motorcycle related stuff to see in that area or just cool stuff in general. Depending on how things go I should have a night or 2 in Nagoya to poke around.

Looks like its over 200 miles from from Fukushima, do I bring the Geiger counter:Poke:?

2. cannonballcobb

cannonballcobb Registered Offender

If ya gotta take a dump at the airport, I'd recommend you don't sit down.

3. karrotx

karrotx Well-Known Member

You can get an international DL at AAA in 10 minutes.

4. Was recently there. It's stupid to rent a car in Japan - it costs way too much money, fuel is outrageous, roads are incredibly crowded, and many signs are incomprehensible. If you get in an accident, your life will be a living hell.

Subways and trains are easy, they go everywhere, and they run all the time.

Screw Nagoya. You can get on the Shinkansen ("bullet train") in Nagoya, and be in Kyoto in 35 minutes. Take the subway to Ponto-cho district in Kyoto, where you can eat like a king, then walk across the bridge over the river to Gion district and party like a rock star. Then you stumble back to the subway, and take the Shinkansen back to Nagoya with all the other drunks.

5. onepusher

onepusher Socially Inappropriate