1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General Info on GPs

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by CorollaDude, Oct 16, 2001.

1. CorollaDude

CorollaDude Beach Bum

I'm on the verge of buying a new SV to ride on the road for a year, then convert to racing. However, I really got attracted to the GPs after watching them (well, you guys) closely at VIR this year. Before I make any plunge for the SV, I wonder if you could advise on some questions:

• Are GPs really as exciting to race as they seem to be from a spectating view? It seems like they must be a total blast to race.

• I'm not a mechanical expert by any means, especially with the fine art of tuning 2-strokes. Would this prohibit me from being even halfway competitive and/or where would I find tuners to help out?

• OF COURSE, the Aprilia is one of the coolest machines in the world! So, question: Aprilia or Honda?

•  What, if any, is the difference in tire bills for an Aprilia or Honda vs. an SV?

• What about difference in maintenances expenses in general?

• I see some 2 strokes for sale in the 2-3 K range. Are these in good enough shape to race? Or would they require extra expense to get race ready.

• How do they hold up in crashes? (This is of pertinent concern since I'm gonna be a newbie?

• I'm 5'7" and weigh 175. Is this too much weight for a 125?

• This will be a large category: What am I too dumb to ask about GPs?

Thanks in advance.

2. Bill Cole

Bill Cole Well-Known Member

Hey Bruce, I will take a stab at this...

- GP bikes are more fun than they look. I personally will never ride anything but a 125.