1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Front slick wore out before rear

Discussion in 'Tech' started by RedReplicant, Mar 30, 2015.

1. RedReplicant

RedReplicant Well-Known Member

I put 500 track only miles on a set of Pirelli SBK Pros and religiously made sure the hot pressures were 32/27-28. The bike is a bone stock down to the exhaust 03 Duc 749 and I never paid attention to front wear because I figured the rear would go first from heat cycles. Lo and behold, the front is done on the right side with a lot of rubber left on the rear before bottoming out the 'dots'. Did I fuck up with my tire pressures or something? Is this normal? The wear on the tires pattern wise seems normal to me, but I'm not very experienced.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. MELK-MAN

MELK-MAN The Dude abides...

wondering how in the world you feel that is "wore out".. is it a mega soft compound that you are getting too hot or something ?

and "500 track miles" ... holy shit bro :) that's like 250 laps.. gotta be some kinda record.

3. ped

ped Banned

I dont know if the Pro's are the same but the supercorsa fronts are ran at 33-34 psi. Yeah you should get more out of it for sure. It's not done but getting there.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2015
  4. RedReplicant

I'm more or less on the bottom of the edge tread 'dot' on the front and I had a decent front end slide on my last lap before I called it a day. I just don't want to end up on my head if I try and run another day on them. I love the tires, I just find it very strange the front is showing so much more wear than the front.

5. malik ross

malik ross Waits for his asskicking.

I can't wrap my head around this question.

6. RedReplicant

My question is do I have a setup issue since the front tire wore faster than the rear?

7. khill

khill Well-Known Member