1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First WERA event a success! VIR 3/19-3/21

Discussion in 'Race Reports' started by operative, Mar 22, 2010.

1. operative

operative Well-Known Member

First off, I wanted to say congrats to a fellow NESBA guy (CR) John Kremenik for his stellar performances on the track this weekend. I was just coincidentally pitted across from him and he is just a stand-UP guy. Good meeting you John!

So I had never run VIR North, but I've been doing trackdays with NESBA for a few years now. Finally in 2009, I got bumped to NESBA advanced and decided to give this racing thing a shot.

Being the conservative 28 year old that I am, I decided that even though I had a race bred r6 that had won a few expert races in 2009, that I was going to spend my first weekend on my new SV650. After practicing on Friday and of course the Riders School/Mock Race on the SV on Saturday, John K. talked me into riding the R6 instead. All I really needed was a little encouragement! :-D

So I wheeled the R6 out of the back of the hauler, and got it ready for Sunday morning practice. After trying to play catchup on practice time, I ran off the outside of turn one after taking it a little too hot. Rather than hit the tire barrier, I decided to lay it down gently in the grass. Luckily there was no damage whatsoever so I re-teched and got out for 3 more laps.

C Superbike Novice - 11th - 1:41.546 fast lap