1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I get some advice on a track bike?

Discussion in 'General' started by DBN123BIKES, Nov 22, 2022.

1. DBN123BIKES

DBN123BIKES Member

Hi Gang,

I am new to track riding, and I need some advice.

I always wanted to try the track, so I bought a 2007 SV650S for 1500 dollars to try out the track. I did my first track day last September and I loved it. I am planning to do many more next season. She is a decent bike, but I find the ergos to be pretty uncomfortable for me at 57 years of age. The bike seems to run fine. It is mostly stock. (It has a pipe and some frame sliders.)

That said I decided I would try to find a built track bike for the coming season. My hope was to find a small displacement bike (preferably a Ninja 400 or R3) that already had the suspension done for someone that is 165lbs, which is how much I weigh.

So far, I have not found anything like that. However, what I did find was a 2022 Ninja 400 ABS for 4,250 dollars with 780 miles on it. Would this be a good call? I know it will cost more money in the long run to build it up myself, but perhaps I am fine with a stock bike being that I am a beginner. (I was very slow at the one track day I did!) What do you think?

I have found track bikes with Ohlins suspension, but they always seem to be for guys that weigh 200lbs. So I have been wondering if a stock Ninja 400 will work better for me than a bike with Ohlins suspension that is intended for someone that is 40lbs heavier than me? Or....do I lack the skills to notice the difference?

I know I could fix up my SV, but I really dont like the ergos. After 20 minutes it hurts. She is kind of beat up to boot. She has been down before by the previous owner. (Maybe that is a good thing. I would not care if I dropped it.) I think I would be bummed dropping a brand new Ninja 400. However, I lean towards being cautious at my age.