1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brembo Brake question

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Heartsofoak441, Feb 28, 2007.

1. Heartsofoak441

Heartsofoak441 Zip Tie Alley

Howdy I got a 02 Honda F4i Racebike and am Upgrading the master to a Brembo. What determines the Grade of Brake fluid to run (dot 4 dot 5.1 Dot ?) Is it the Master? the Lines? or the calipers?.

What Should I use

Thank you

2. Britt

Britt Well-Known Member

Castrol SRF.

3. gothicbeast

gothicbeast Back by court order

The Castrol SRF stuff is some great stuff and at $70 for 1 Liter, it should be as good. The Dry Boiling point is 320C :wow: and the wet is down at 270C. The stuff is really good.

For my limited budget, I feel less expensive alternatives are ok. I have some experience with extended brake usage in vehicles. The fact is even extended periods of time with the brakes applied does not bring the fluid beyond the 200C range. I do not have data for actual race bike fluid, but for vehicles the pistons don't transfer that much heat to the fluid.

If you change your brake fluid before it goes brown, most Dot 4 stuff should be fine. I use Inexpensive Prestone Synthetic DOT 4 Brake Fluid, which has a
    Minimum Dry Boiling Point 260C. At $4 a bottle at wally world it is cheep enough to change twice a year, or every weekend if you feel the need.

4. Britt

Britt Well-Known Member

Ok, guess we just wasted our hard earned cash on that stuff for the last 2 years, with nothing to show for it, didn't learn a thing.

You can purchase cheaper fluid, I would say AP Super600 @ $18 a quart is ok,or the Neo Super DOT 610 @ $15.00 12oz. would be another good choice.

I would go look at the Dry and Wet boiling points, pick the one with the closest spread, and work your pricing from there, a simple search of "Racing Brake Fluids" will give you atleast 2 hours worth of information on what will work well for Racing applications.