1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Board Wisdom: Southwest US Motorcycle Tour

Discussion in 'General' started by Smilodon, Mar 15, 2017.

1. Smilodon

Smilodon Wannabe

Been planning a vacation trip and, after weighing all of the factors, one of the final candidates is a motorcycle tour of the Southwest US. In short, the plan would be to fly to Vegas, rent a BMW from Eagleriders there, make a loop down around Arizona and then back through Utah to Vegas. Hoover Dam, Route 66 kitsch, Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Moab, etc.

It is one of the few areas of the country that I have very little experience with (which is part of why I want to go!). I was hoping to get a little WERA board wisdom in regards to such a trip, particularly from some helpful local (or at least somebody that goes to that area a lot).

Primary concern is *when* to go. What is a good time of year to have the best riding weather chances? Beyond that, there are about a million scenic things I want to see, but is there something more obscure I shouldn’t miss? A better route? Good places to stay? Good food places?

2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Death Valley is really cool too.

Issue is of course heat - but if you go when it's nicer you're also limited on daylight.

3. motion

motion Nihilistic Member

You'll have a great time on a trip like that. July and August are HOT in most of those places. I would shoot for early-mid June, or early-mid September.

Canadian Bacon likes this.
  4. rd400racer

rd400racer Well-Known Member

I've done it all multiple times and we always went from late June to mid August and never had any weather issues. We did go to Yosemite late May two years ago and got caught in a monster snow storm.

The route you are describing is an incredible part of our country. I could write a book about our adventures in that area.