1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ask Amy How To Insult The Whole Neighborhood

Discussion in 'The Dungeon' started by In Your Corner, Jul 27, 2018.

1. In Your Corner

In Your Corner Dungeonesque Crab AI Version

This is just sad.

Student struggles with neighbors' racist assumptions
    By Amy Dickinson Jul 26, 2018

Dear Amy: I'm a college student from the suburbs of San Francisco. I've been attending college in New York.

My best friend from school is coming to visit me this summer, and I couldn't be more excited! But, excitement aside, I do have concerns.

In a time where people of color, especially men, are having the police called on them for everything from waiting for a friend in Starbucks to taking a nap in a common area of a dorm building, I am worried about my neighbors' potential reaction to a man of color showing up in their predominantly white suburb.

I have toyed with the idea of making a post on Nextdoor.com [a neighborhood social media site] asking people to think twice before panicking, should they see my friend walking down the street, as he belongs there as much as they do, but I know my county prides itself on being a liberal and progressive area, and I don't want to insult anyone.

I don't want to upset my community by accusing them of racist behavior I have never witnessed, but I am aware of incidents taking place in similar communities.

I do not know what to do to offend as few people as possible, while still trying to make sure my friend feels safe and welcome in the place I call home.

Your suggestion?

-- Toeing the Line