1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Andy White's accident got me thinking.

Discussion in 'General' started by Peanut37, Jun 10, 2014.

1. Peanut37

Peanut37 Peanut

I was discussing the unfortunate incident at Road Atlanta with my brother who races in California. He asked me if I knew Andy, and that question stuck with me. Because I couldn't really answer the question. I don't know if I knew him. I'm new to WERA this season, and I'm fairly social. I wander around the paddock a lot and try to meet people. I'm also on here pretty regularly. The thing is as racers we tend to post a lot of pictures of our motorcycles in action. I can tell you Andy had a beautiful Kawasaki ZX-10R, and he had great body position. The sad thing is, we tend to forget that there is a face behind the helmet. There is only a handful of fellow racers that I actually know and recognize without a motorcycle beneath them. So I thought I would start this thread to say goodbye and hello to Andy White, I'm sorry I didn't know you better.

Hi, my name is Michael Davis. I'm #37, and I go by the name Peanut.
    [​IMG]

2. There's a name to faces thread somewhere on here. Too lazy to search.

3. V5 Racer

V5 Racer Yo!

A new one wouldn't hurt, most of the people in that thread no longer race.

4. Peanut37

Peanut37 Peanut

Well this is one with a new focus.

5. britx303

britx303 Boomstick Butcher…..

excellent heartfelt idea:up:. I get exactly what you are saying. I see names in results....or pictures of a faceless rider under the helmet,and we sometimes speak as brothers,yet many would pass you by without a clue as to who you are.in my 2nd year ive been racing now,its only every once in awhile I catch someones name that I recognize from say,RRW magazine,and im left saying to myself..."oh that's that guy!" there isn't enough of these connections,I agree.a bit of a shame really.

6. t11ravis

t11ravis huge carbon footprint