1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

air flow in twin headers ?

Discussion in 'Tech' started by bcc, Nov 27, 2008.

1. bcc

bcc painter /fabricator

I'm building a custom exhaust for ducati 748 .i have my front cylinder taken care of ,but the rear needs to be much longer so that they are the same length .This is not a top shelf race bike ,but i would still like it to flow correctly within reason.

my question is ,i have 11/16th or 40mm ID from the front cylinder it measures 45 inches before it connects to the muffler

in the rear i can use 49mm ID ior 1 -7/8 f needed.

the whole thing is under the bike and bodywork so you cant really see anything .

how long does the 49mm pipe need to be in order to flow the same as 45 inches of 40mm.

is the a calculation for this?

2. kneedragger29

kneedragger29 Well-Known Member

I'm no exhaust expert, but my no means a newb at this. From what i know & what makes sense,I don't think (someone correct me if i am wrong) you can substitute volume for length & that is why Ducati engineers go through the trouble of snaking the pipes down, around & back up for the rear cylinder. Having the same diameter pipe for each respective cylinder is paramount & you can cheat a bit with length. As you say, it is not a top shelf race bike & that being the case, first & foremost i would want the diameters to be the same & the lengths as close as they can be. I have had several different spaghetti style exhausts for Ducati's & they all had the same header diameter but the better ones had the same exact length. At the same time, the cheaper ones that had the same diameter just had a bit less rear header pipe. I'm just reasoning here, but you would think if the engineers could have made up for length with volume, they would have.