1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Acquired my RS50's Little Big Brother

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by freedomgli, Apr 24, 2018.

1. freedomgli

freedomgli Well-Known Member

I was in college when Aprilia first started importing the RS50 to the USA. I dreamed about how cool it would be to have one and ride it back and forth to class. Alas, I was a poor student and all I had was a bicycle to get around campus. But I never forgot about that RS50. Fast forward to 2013 and I was finally able to acquire that dream bike, a little jewel of a Grand Prix replica racer, my RS50. During the riding season I try to take it out at least once a month for a quick blast to make sure everything is still in tip top condition and working the way it should. I enjoy riding it, the pleasure of owning it and sharing my enthusiasm with the rest of you here on the Aprilia Forum.

[​IMG]

Well this weekend I acquired my RS50's Little Big Brother. I was fortunate to purchase this rare 2000 Aprilia RS125 (black/ fluorescent red) to go along with my 2000 Aprilia RS50 (gray/ yellow). The two bikes were built just one month apart from each other, the RS125 was built in March of 2000 and the RS50 was built in February. I estimate it to be one of less than ten 1999-2005 RS125s in the country as they were never officially imported here as far as I know. It used to have the rare OEM Identikit body that mimicked Tetsuya Harada's 1999 Aprilia RSW-2 500 Grand Prix bike but it's looking a bit worse for wear now.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I plan to do a mild restoration and will have to decide which look to choose as this bike was available in so many different color schemes. The long term goal is to one day get a 2000 Aprilia RS250 to complete the collection. Perhaps something like this in a year or two from now.

[​IMG]