1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tow vehicle question, seeking advice

Discussion in 'General' started by Quick6RR, Oct 6, 2021.

1. Quick6RR

Quick6RR Well-Known Member

I just acquired my race license and looking to grab a small toy hauler to bring the family along on race trips. The only issue is our tow vehicle. I currently have a 2013 Ford Explorer with a max tow capacity of an embarrassing 2500lbs, but it gets the job done with my current track day setup (5x12 open utility trailer carrying bike and gear). The toy hauler we're looking at has a dry weight of 2750lbs (max 5200lbs). I wanted to share my vehicle options and get some opinions on which would be more cost effective in the long run. My wife and I currently share the Explorer as I work in law enforcement and rarely need to drive it. The dilemma, get a newer vehicle with payments as a family vehicle with added towing duties (used 2015ish Toyota 4Runner, approx $25-30k, financed w/ payments), or get a separate truck for towing duties only (2005ish Ford F150, $7-9K, no payments).

For those who have been there, would it make more sense to get a newer vehicle for the family that does everything but costs more upfront, or get a second vehicle solely for towing?

Would the upfront costs for the newer vehicle outweigh potential repair costs over the older truck?

Thanks.

2. socalrider

socalrider pathetic and rude

i dont see a F350 or 3500 super duty dually on your list. ergo, your list is wrong.

seriously though- i would get the truck with no payments for towing only and keep the exploder for the daily driver. assuming the exploder is paid off.

Knotcher, Quick6RR and 5axis like this.
  3. bitorius

bitorius Active Member

I have a Tacoma SR 4x4 I4 (yeah, the 4 cylinder) for going solo to the track. I have a Tundra Limited for towing more than one bike with creature comforts and my wife and brother.