1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MotoAmerica Climate

Discussion in 'General' started by Superbikeorbust, Dec 29, 2019.

1. turner38

turner38 Well-Known Member

I’m a tech because it is what I am good at. Always have been. What dealers want to pay is a joke these days. Most are only paying techs a average of 15% of the labor they turn. That makes it a cut throat business to be in because you have to churn out hours to survive.
    I have a young guy that works for me, 23 years old and has the ability to do
    Most anything with a little direction. I pay him 40% of labor turned. Same deal I got at my first flat rate job.

It is a shitty industry to be in at the dealership level and even worse if you are in the tire store type service shops. Way too much emphasis on up-sells and not enough on taking care of customer needs and best interests.

TurboBlew, 418 and cav115 like this.
  2. cav115

cav115 Well-Known Member

Yep.

We are a diagnostic/drivability shop first, though we also do maintenance if asked.

The good money is in the skilled side.

36 yrs and counting. ASE master plus advanced driveability. All my techs are certified.

We`re the shop that fixes it when others can`t. Love that satisfaction we get.

The domestic dealers are bad, cutting techs whenever they can, because they make money in sales and don`t care about service as much.

Even worse when it`s warranty.

In contrast, our local Honda dealers actually pay their techs more for warranty work.

Smart!

Last edited: Jan 2, 2020
  3. 418

418 Expert #59

Did you really just say that after talking shit about millions of Millenials you apparently got all figured out? C'mon now.