1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1993 rs125 worth it?

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by Indy88, Nov 4, 2017.

1. Indy88

Indy88 Member

I know of a 1993 rs125 for sale for about 3k and was wondering if it's worth it to buy one. I did some track days this year and am getting my race license next season to compete in a local 300 series. I am just a beginner, but ever since I found out about the honda rs125s I've been constantly batting the idea of getting one. My big worry with the nx4 model years is that parts seem really hard to find. I was looking for cranks and all I could find are vhm cranks for 1995+ years. So my question is one, are parts available and I'm looking in the wrong place and two, is 3k a fair asking price for the bike?

2. Sullivan

Sullivan Active Member

93' would be a NF4. Not the nx4. That is 1995 til 2009. The crank are available for around 1k or a guy in Ohio named Steve Massey rebuilds the for 3 or 4 hundred.

3. Sullivan

Sullivan Active Member

Let' try that again. The nx4 cranks are available and rebuildable. Parts are also reasonably available. I have no experience with the nf4 but finding parts is half the fun.

4. nantahala

nantahala Well-Known Member

NX4 cranks are not available. Steve is in California now and can rebuild used ones. Or expensive VHM which can be rebuilt.

I wouldn't get a '93 unless you want to tinker a lot and not ride it a lot. Spend a little extra and get newer model.

Matt

5. Boman Forklift

Boman Forklift Well-Known Member

I agree with Matt above, for around the same money or slightly more, you can get the newer bike which is better.

6. Sullivan

Sullivan Active Member

Perhaps available is the wrong word. They are obtainable.

7. Indy88

Indy88 Member

Thanks for the replies, I guess I'll wait for a 95+. Sucks that these old GP 2 strokes are going extinct because no more parts are being produced.

8. vance

vance *