1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Teach me about Grunge/Punk/Hard rock/Metal...

Discussion in 'General' started by TheGrouchyCat, Aug 7, 2016.

1. TheGrouchyCat

TheGrouchyCat Don't let my friends know I'm slow

Ok so I grew up listening to classic rock. Ever since I was a little baby with my dad rockin' AC/DC in the '93 ford taurus. Then I hit puberty and I started hanging out with my grandpa more so I got into 50's rock n' roll and went swing dancing at Ohio State to meet some college chicks. (no shame that my mom was my wingman, she's badass). Then through junior and senior years of high school I was split 50/50 between 80's-90's country (garth brooks, george strait, george jones etc...) and classic rock. Now I'm a sophomore in college and for the past few months I've really been into The Offspring, Pearl Jam, Stone Temple Pilots, Alice in Chains, Nirvana, and sometimes Green Day, Blink182, etc...
    So I'm looking for suggestions of good songs, history lessons, the usual beeb stuff.
    Lookin' at you @Metalhead

2. ped

ped Banned

so you just started listening to the mediocre mall rock crap they been playing on every lame FM stations rotation for 25 years?

you realize they're so old most of those bands have dead members, right?

motoboy likes this.
  3. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!

Start with the Ramones, Clash, Jawbreaker, Pennywise, Descendents, Bad Religion and the Melvins. If it takes there's a whole lot of great stuff. Alkaline Trio, Dinosaur Jr and Meat Puppets if you're feeling like an adventure.

Grunge is just Punk slowed down with some metal thrown in. Tad, Mudhoney, Soundgarden, L7 . . .

4. TheGrouchyCat

TheGrouchyCat Don't let my friends know I'm slow

I was just waiting for the music to ferment, now I'm ready for it.

5. flyboy

flyboy Well-Known Member

Queens of the Stone Age, The Misfits, Dead Boys

6. Bloodhound

Bloodhound Well-Known Member