1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FZR Fever at Summit Point

Discussion in 'WERA Vintage' started by jimraynor21, Aug 2, 2011.

1. jimraynor21

jimraynor21 Well-Known Member

Being a newb I dont have a good perspective on the normal turnout but V6HW was filled with one bike and one bike only, FZRs!

Mike Kelly took the win with his beast FZR1000 followed closely by Quentin Mise on his FZR4/6. What followed was an extremely impressive 3rd place by Shane Hoeckel running in the 1:24s on a basically stock(slicks and suspension) FZR600. Doug #686 on his FZR600 took a hard earned 4th place despite a seemingly minor crash in practice which left his bike in shambles. He was closely followed by Allen #57 running his FZR4/6, running his personal best times at Summit and nipping at Dougs heals the entire time. I rounded out the pack on my 4/6 running my usual slow times, but still with a personal best. It wouldnt be fair if I left out Lance who kindly opted to run V7MW on his ZX6r he endurance raced on Saturday, taking 2nd on the field overall.

After a restart by the A Superbike Expert grid in race 18 who were putting down INSANE times (1:13s), followed by a race finishing red flag caused by a massive oiling down of the front straight, the anxious fatigued V7HW racers finally took the grid after the long delay.

V7HW was filled with the same bikes minus Mikes 1000. Lance opted to run his ZX6r in the heavyweight race with the absence of any *true* V7 bikes as to not completely run away with the race on his infamous ZX7/9, securing 1st. Quentin followed closely behind and took another 2nd, but not without being troubled and almost picked off by again Shane who took another impressive 3rd place. Allen ended up getting the holeshot on Doug, taking a hard earned 4th as I followed closely the both of them for a few laps but was ultimately unable to get close enough to pull the trigger.