Beginners Guide to Painting Bodywork. From a beginner to a Beginner

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Pugsly, Jul 28, 2003.

1. Pugsly

Pugsly This Boy Ain't Right!!!

This is from my own personal experiance. I am not a professional, so ths technique i used may or may not be what a professional painter does, so please all you experts keep that in mind.

I have done 2 sets of bodywork. The first came out horrible and the second was almost to beautiful to take to the track! i learned a lot bewtween my first time and my second time.

First and foremost.....THe way for me to a good paint job is GOOD PREP WORK!!!! I can't stress that enough. get all that grease and grime off. I used 3m adhesive, grease and wax remover. even if it looks like theres nothing on it (like new direct from the manufactuere) still clean it good.

I next went over the set with a green scotchbrite pad to slightly scuff it up. I than used Plasti-Kote sandablegray primer (ALL paint used was Plasti-Kote Truck and SUV paint I got from PEP Boys for $4.99 a can). Even if it is pre-primed, prime it again cause some paints are only compatable with same company primer.

I than hung the bodywork by a bent wire hanger from hooks in the celing of my garage. don't paint it on the floor of the garage it gets everywhere and you end up not getting paint in a ll the crevises.

Next i sparayed 3-4 coats of whatever color you wish. don't get too close or you'll get heavy runs which look like shit. You don't ave to cover the bodywork 100% on the first coat. Keep the can about 8 or so inches away and keep a nice steady side to side stroke. Oh, i used Laquer paint, it seems to dry alot faster and is more forgivable if you make a mistake (sandable) I waited about 10 minutes between coats.