Can I just give up on trying to get a knee down?

Discussion in 'General' started by trackjunkieX, Dec 4, 2009.

1. trackjunkieX

trackjunkieX Banned

Hi all,
    Newbie here.

I've been doing track days for 2 years and this year I'm thinking about doing some racing. I'm getting faster but for the life of me I can't get a knee anywhere near to down. Seems to be an issue with flexibility and short legs relative to height.

Can I just give up on it and focus on other aspects of riding? Is it really necessary for amateur racers?

TIA -benny

2. Chand

Chand Well-Known Member

it will come , just keep riding and work on other things.. !!!

:beer:

3. Wes07

Wes07 Well-Known Member

I actually had a friend that for the life of him was deathly afraid of touching his knee down. The hell of it was he actually got pretty damn fast and refused to scrape a knee puck. Stop thinking about it and just focus on riding, by making it your goal, your actually putting too much pressure on it and making it harder on yourself. In time my friend finally got used to it and started dragging, but has hardly gotten any faster since!
    So, don't worry about it. Just focus on being a better, faster rider.

4. cpettit

cpettit Well-Known Member

+1 it will happen when it is time. Focus on the track not your knees.

5. paistes5

paistes5 Well-Known Member

We all have wanted to drag our knees on the track, something about the coolness factor and not knowing any better. Anyway, just focus on speed and it will come. Now I'm trying to pull my knees off the ground some so I don't wear out the sliders so fast.

I doubt it's a height think, look at DiSalvo and Pedrobot, they're midgets.

Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  6. KillerCam

KillerCam KillerCam Racing

Get off the bike more , Get your ass off the bike the knee will come

7. Capt Home Slice

Capt Home Slice Well-Known Member

as said, it's should be a result, not a goal. :up:

8. vance

vance *