1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

They Must be Crazy or just don't care.

Discussion in 'General' started by etemplet, Jun 12, 2009.

1. etemplet

etemplet Well-Known Member

I've been noticing workman along a stretch of interstate for a few months (I-12 in Louisiana). It's looked the were building a sidewalk in the median (which is about 50 feet wide on this highway system) the paved area wasn't in the center (about 15 feet from where the lane ends) and it switched sides for some unknown reason. It stretched for miles. Low and behold, they installed POLES (about 3 feet high) with 4 strands of heavy duty cable strung across.

Are these people nutz ? If a motorcycle ever loses control lord knows what kind of injuries this stuff will cause. I guess it was installed to stop vehicles from crossing over but what about safety? WOW !! They should have just put up razor wire instead. :eek: Maybe they'll call it the eviscerator. Sad, because the potential is there for serious injuries.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2009
  2. BC

BC Well-Known Member

Yep, it sucks. I've also seen it used here in FL and other places, and always thought the same thing.

3. Mr Sunshine

Mr Sunshine Banned

Yup they are called cable barriers. Cheaper than K or Jersey barriers...VERY bad news to motorcyclist. I contacted the local guy when I saw them in Washington State and was told essentially we don't care.

4. TrackStar

TrackStar www.trackstar1.com

They put those in up here in Utah as well. When it snows hard and the cars start to slide off the highway it looks like a tuna net full of fish.

5. JeremyL

JeremyL Active Member

Have them in GA on the way to Road Atlanta as well. Considering what they do to the cars I have seen I hope nobody ever hits one on a motorcycle.

6. Mr Sunshine

Mr Sunshine Banned

People have and it generally isn't pretty.

7. SMonk

SMonk Twisted Moto Racing