Newbie Tire wear question, got pics, please help.

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Freddy, Jun 7, 2009.

1. Freddy

Freddy Well-Known Member

This is my 1st time running DOT race rubber (PRC/PR3) I used them for the 1st time last weekend at Nelson Ledges for morning practice and a couple races in the afternoon. I've never used these before and I thought I might post a couple questions about tire wear.

I attached a few pictures to help, there is a ~ 1" section on the right side of the rear tire about 1" in that looks like maybe cold tearing?? Also on the right side the leading edge of the tread groove is turned up a bit.
    Just curious if this was normal.
    I ran tire warmers, I'm on an R6, some suspension work, fast to mid I pack rider (only ran 1:20 at Nelson for my 1st time this past weekend, I know, I'm slow). My buddy has the same PR3 rear tire on his 636 and he had similar tire wear marks. We were running 22psi cold.

I'm going to try to get another TD weekend at Putnam out of these??!!

Attached Files:

2. Capt Home Slice

Capt Home Slice Well-Known Member

That one inch section that could be tearing... Maybe not cold tearing in my opinion. (which is waaaaay of the mark most of the time) :) but it could be a contributing factor. That is where you're getting on the gas hard and I'd say it's a suspension thing. I had similar wear with Power Race Mediums and working with the suspension fixed it.

3. LongDogRacing

LongDogRacing Well-Known Member

the PR3's aren't going to last very long anyway. only supposed to last a sprint or two.

give the PR5 or the PRE's a shot, or the new power one C rear, if its longevity you're looking for...

or, like Mr. Slice recommended, ask your suspension guy for some advice...

4. PAzYearazzUP

PAzYearazzUP Banned

There is nothing you can do with that curl, being it wears in that direction.

Are not the different burn centers, different compounds the way they make tires these days?