1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can you possibly afford to race

Discussion in 'General' started by redhawkmoto, Apr 12, 2017.

1. redhawkmoto

redhawkmoto Well-Known Member

I'm new to the blog and I just want to know how can you possibly afford to be a racer these days just getting everything started looks like a daunting task not to mention fuel, tires, and travel expenses . I want to race but idk if I'll ever be able to afford it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. gapman789

gapman789 Well-Known Member

Where there's a will, there's a way. Good luck and welcome.

sPatlovich1 and Laz like this.
  3. eggfooyoung

eggfooyoung You no eat more!

Big Sherm, Murcielago311, Laz and 3 others like this.
  4. Rogue4

Rogue4 Well-Known Member

From your pic and lack of combat patch, I'm guessing you're junior enlisted in the Army.

I know the pay isn't great, but I started track days as a PFC in 2005. I lived in the barracks, didn't have a car payment or any other bills. When my buddies wanted to go party, I stayed in my room and ate ramen. I would car pool with others to the track. Bought take offs, rode a cheap bike that was easy to maintain, used pump gas etc. It wasn't until after my first 15 month deployment that I bought a dedicated late model track bike.

It just takes time and dedication. It helps to have friends with the same goal. Buy a small Ninja and tires will last forever. They're my biggest expense. Racing is definitely doable on an Army pay check.

Attached Files:

obcbr, Cajun Kid, SnacktimeKC and 3 others like this.
  5. auminer

auminer Renaissance Redneck

Is it allowed from an injury risk standpoint? I know my division officer put the kibosh on my bull riding ambitions in 88/89... perhaps things have changed since then.

6. Rogue4

Rogue4 Well-Known Member