Front slick wore out before rear

Discussion in 'Tech' started by RedReplicant, Mar 30, 2015.

1. RedReplicant

RedReplicant Well-Known Member

I put 500 track only miles on a set of Pirelli SBK Pros and religiously made sure the hot pressures were 32/27-28. The bike is a bone stock down to the exhaust 03 Duc 749 and I never paid attention to front wear because I figured the rear would go first from heat cycles. Lo and behold, the front is done on the right side with a lot of rubber left on the rear before bottoming out the 'dots'. Did I fuck up with my tire pressures or something? Is this normal? The wear on the tires pattern wise seems normal to me, but I'm not very experienced.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. MELK-MAN

MELK-MAN The Dude abides...

wondering how in the world you feel that is "wore out".. is it a mega soft compound that you are getting too hot or something ?

and "500 track miles" ... holy shit bro :) that's like 250 laps.. gotta be some kinda record.

3. ped

ped Banned

I dont know if the Pro's are the same but the supercorsa fronts are ran at 33-34 psi. Yeah you should get more out of it for sure. It's not done but getting there.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2015
  4. RedReplicant

I'm more or less on the bottom of the edge tread 'dot' on the front and I had a decent front end slide on my last lap before I called it a day. I just don't want to end up on my head if I try and run another day on them. I love the tires, I just find it very strange the front is showing so much more wear than the front.

5. malik ross

malik ross Waits for his asskicking.

I can't wrap my head around this question.

6. RedReplicant

My question is do I have a setup issue since the front tire wore faster than the rear?

7. khill

khill Well-Known Member