ZX6R and the Factory Pro Star Detent?

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Taylspin, Dec 9, 2007.

1. Taylspin

Taylspin Well-Known Member

Does anyone have any experience with this? Does it help make the bottom end a little more durable. Any opinions are appreciated. Looking for info on whether it is worth $150. Thanks

2. Tunersricebowl

Tunersricebowl Fog, onward through.

Not with the Kawa, but they work great in everything else I've used them in.
    Much more positive shifting with no overshift or partial shifts.

3. streetfight3r

streetfight3r Well-Known Member

I'm currently in the process of rebuilding my zx-6r transmisson, so the factory pro detent star is definitely going on. I have no experience with it, but I think that even if there's a slight chance of helping me keep this new transmission in tack, its worth the 150ish.

4. Tunersricebowl

Are you doing the work yourself?
    I gave up tinkering with gear sets on race bikes years ago (other than the odd gear or fork swap) and now I send all my stuff to R+D performance.
    They are a trans only shop and not only have in house heat treating but they make shims and spacer kits to prevent over-shift on Kawa's.
    They are always busy but they are the BEST and worth getting in line for.
    BTW, they can repair most damaged shift dogs if the gear/s are not cracked for less money than new bits PLUS the heat treat and undercut are much better/stronger than stock stuff.
    I've used them for 10 years with fantastic results.
    The names of the guys running their stuff would surprise you.
    Call them at 727-447-4552.

5. Trinity Rx7

Trinity Rx7 Well-Known Member