1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speeding ticket question N.C. vs. G.A. ?

Discussion in 'General' started by seven4eight, Oct 31, 2007.

1. seven4eight

seven4eight Well-Known Member

Got a 70/55 citation in Graham Co. (Robbinsville) NC last month and was wondering if it will show on my insurance if I am a resident of GA? Clerk said she would put a note into the DA to plead it down to 9 mph over, but it will still be an infraction. Anyone have any experiences with this, getting a ticket in another state, and the impact on ins? One of my first speeding tickets so I am curious

2. Joe Morris

Joe Morris Off The Reservation

All states bordering North Carolina have had reciprication on traffic tickets since I was a kid. So your ticket in North Carolina will also be reported in Georgia. Atleast that's my understanding. I've never had to go through this myself.

3. paperclip

paperclip D'oh!

It'll show on your record regardless, it is up to the state to charge you on it, and on top of that up to the insurance. As joe stated, every state that touches NC will post that ticket like if it was theirs.

4. roy826ex

roy826ex Been around here a while

I got a double yellow passing ticket back in 2000 on Ga. 60. Paid the fine over the phone and the ticket never showed up on my Mississippi record. Ga. does not share DMV records not sure about NC. I am inclined to think they do share.

5. seven4eight

seven4eight Well-Known Member

thats what I was afraid of......oh well driving record has been pretty good, maybe insurance wont go up too much. Thanks guys

6. R Acree

R Acree Banned

They do share. As of about 4 years ago, I don't think the state automatically reported all infractions to insurance companies. That may have changed.