1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New racer and VA Benefits

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by Lucas Smith, Apr 30, 2017.

1. Lucas Smith

Lucas Smith New Member

I am just getting into this sport and have been looking around for information regarding how and if the VA would cover medical services if needed.

I am classified as a disabled vet and
    I have been given different answers, but hope someone here can give me information from a racer's perspective.

Thank you!

2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

They've always covered hurt riders that I know of. Only issues have been active duty service members explaining how they can't work to their CO's :D

Rising Sun likes this.
  3. LilBabyGirl

LilBabyGirl Whiney Cunt

I would contact the VA and ask them but I highly doubt you'd be covered.

4. Big Sherm

Big Sherm Well-Known Member

Why do you doubt the VA would cover injuries from racing?

G 97 likes this.
  5. Big Sherm

Hey MoleMan.
    I'm sure there are several who'd like to know why you believe that, including me!

Scott

6. Lucas Smith

Lucas Smith New Member

I am heading up to the local office for a routine check and I will let you know what I find out.

7. Big Sherm

I'm a retired vet, and I use the healthcare I earned in the military.
    When I show up there with a health issue, I'm not asked why I have it, and no one checks the cause against some approved list of activities.

I think MoleMan was only being contrary when he suggested some causes of injury wouldn't be covered.

Scott

8. Lucas Smith

Lucas Smith New Member

Thanks Scott. I have not had a reason to use the system other than a somewhat routine checkup. Just want to know where and how many hoops to jump through.

9. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

I've never heard of any of our vet riders being refused care. Same issues as normal but nothing specific because something happened racing.

10. JBall