1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Y'all know everything so...windshield protection?

Discussion in 'General' started by code3ryder, Sep 29, 2023.

1. code3ryder

code3ryder Well-Known Member

Did a search but didn't see anything. Obviously, PPF has become a fairly normal thing with cars today but I haven't seen too much about windshields. I've seen a couple of brands out there but wanted to see if anyone has had a windshield protection film installed. My windshield looks like I've been driving in desert sandstorms for the last two years (super sparkly from the inside). Rock chips are super common here in CO (at least in my area) and I used the Rain-X chip filler stuff but it would be rad to try and prevent the sparkle and the chips. Thoughts?

2. Ken Roberts

Ken Roberts Active Member

As a former glass shop owner, I say when it's rock vs glass, glass always loses. Pitted and chipped glass can be covered by comp ins if it's dangerous and unsafe when driving into the sun.
    I have never installed any film on the outside of a windshield to keep sandblasting from happening. I assume others have, but if the film were to expose my shop it a liability claim because it's not supposed to be there in the first place, I wouldn't install it.
    YMMV

3. IrocRob

IrocRob Well-Known Member

Any film you install over the glass will be much softer than the glass, probably
    requiring a replacement so often that it becomes both annoying and cost prohibitive.

I agree it would be a great option to have though.

4. Venom51

Venom51 John Deere Equipment Expert - Not really

Wiper function may also be compromised to the point of annoyance.

5. Glenntly

Glenntly Member