1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

motorcycle hitch carriers

Discussion in 'General' started by DBConz, Aug 2, 2022.

1. DBConz

DBConz Registered Idiot

been thinking about getting one for my Grom. My SUV has a 5k tow limit and a 500lb hitch limit, so I should be good.

Anyone have a specific one they recommend? This would be for 8-10hr road trips.

2. FastByKids

FastByKids Tire Warmers What?

I've been using a harbor freight model for over 8 years.

A few months ago a local welder reinforced it as outside storage was not kind on the metal.

3. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

I had an aluminum one that worked well for <300lb dirtbikes. I also have a versa haul that can carry up to a 600lb bike. I modified it with a better wheel chock.
    The most important part is the anti rattle brace. Keeps the rack from wiggling & tie downs loosening.

Boman Forklift and DmanSlam like this.
  4. dobr24

dobr24 Well-Known Member

https://www.mototote.com/

The best there is. I have hauled bikes thousand of miles with no issues. Everything from my Grom to Ducati Monster.

5. Tristan

Tristan Well-Known Member

6. tdelegram

tdelegram Well-Known Member

Only concern should be hitch weight capacity and not exceeding it. Carrier plus Grom and you may want to add a bit since it acts like a lever. I use them all the tim to get a fourth bike on my f350. Finally I have a friend that modified one with a pitbul trs worked really slick for his r1.

7. DBConz

DBConz Registered Idiot

thanks. good deal, but still a bit high for what i'd be using it for and the amount of uses i'd get.
    assuming you're somewhere along route 95 also, because shipping would probably get pricy.

8. Tristan

I'm in zip 43055, probably a good hike for you. I'm sure a HF version would be just fine for your use. Mine's rated at 600 lb.

9. renegade17

renegade17 Well-Known Member

Gino230 likes this.
  10. Tristan