1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GOLF

Discussion in 'General' started by Dan Dubeau, Jul 13, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Dan Dubeau

Dan Dubeau Well-Known Member

The top golf thread made me realize there might be a few more whack fuckers here than I thought. Any other golfers here? Who takes it serious, or who just likes to drive around crushing beers and having a good time once in a while?

I started playing when I was about 13 just before the Tiger boom. Took it a bit serious but never got the handicap down into single digits. Kinda hit a wall and never really got better in the 11-13 hcp range as a late teen. I was a long hitter, but had terrible short game (too much ball player swing/cement hands around the greens). Played pretty regularly until my mid/early 20's then the rounds started getting fewer as life got in the way with only a few scrambles a year until the pandemic hit and golf was about the only thing you could do that wouldn't kill a bus full of nuns. Fell back into it hard the past few years along with a few good buddies, and am currently trying to get back where I was when I was younger. Getting there, but still pretty fluky. I'm a 15 handicap now, down from 18 last year so I can see progress. Trying hard to break 80 before the end of the year and almost had it last round with an 82 but I bogeyed the last 3 holes :mad:. I could never race while leading either lol.

We usually play at least once a week, sometimes 2. I always found the mental aspect of golf so similar to racing than any other sport I've played. So much of it is between the ears. The physical aspect not so much lol. Love it though.

Last edited: Jul 13, 2022
  2. Resident Plarp

Resident Plarp drittsekkmanufacturing.com

Golf, I’m told, requires quiet, which is annoying.