1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone use a Holley Sniper?

Discussion in 'General' started by baconologist, Dec 16, 2021.

1. baconologist

baconologist Well-Known Member

Looking at options to ditch the carb on my ‘49. Sniper looks to be a cheap/easy way to go.
    Opinions?

2. ttt637

ttt637 Well-Known Member

Check out a YouTube channel WatchJRgo. They just put one one a mustang last week.

baconologist likes this.
  3. ChemGuy

ChemGuy Harden The F%@# Up!

Will you ever want more powahhh (bottle, supercharger, tubros, etc) or possibly a modern electrically controlled trans? If so look at the Terminator X or Terminator X Max. They have MUCH, MUCH more functionality than a sniper.

I am just getting into the holley EFI world in some drag cars. We are using Terminator X max. This system was on a mildly built LS street motor we are re-purposing for twin turbo LS. There are several youtube guys I watch using the X max on sub 9 second cars...some in the 8s and 7s. There is a lot more you can do with it compared to sniper.

If you just want to ditch the carb and possibly use it for ignition timing on a cruiser then the sniper is fine.

4. baconologist

it’s a pick up
    Mostly looking for reliability. The old 235 I6 isnt a power house. And rebuilding the Monojet every 6mos gets irritating

5. ChemGuy

Nice. Then just grab a sniper system and be done. You may want to check but I think the minimum hp for the sniper is 200 or 250...they may have a kit more suited to 6cyl engines.

The holley instructions can be a little thin on info. But the forums and their tech guys are pretty good to figure out answers. Your best bet is to clal them and find out what system and add ons would be best for your situation.

baconologist likes this.
  6. baconologist

Shockingly they make a 1v and a 2v system as well as the monsters.

nice to hear tech support is good

7. ChemGuy