1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ADA and Fair Housing Act Lawyer?

Discussion in 'General' started by PistolPete, Jul 28, 2021.

1. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

They'd be kicked off the board for wasting lawyer money of a 10 pound difference in pups :D

Glad it's over this quick. Now go fight the other shit!

3. Ducti89

Ducti89 Ticketing Melka’s dirtbike.....

Kinda sorta but I think the crux of the argument comes from the prescription. Its kinda sorta outlined there in the language that if its under a doctors care, it cant really be challenged provided that a doctor can explain it as a medical necessity.

Ive dealt with these issues being a donut eater. Any accommodation ordered by a physician has to be honored by a landlord. If it isnt the ADA then it generally falls under the FHA. Not that I was a pro at quoting those specific federal laws but as a general rule, defaulting to the accommodation of the disability or doctor’s order has kept me out of federal court.

I said it earlier and ill say it again; people dont understand the power of the ADA and, now, the FHA.

Last edited: Jul 29, 2021
  4. PistolPete

PistolPete Fuck Cancer...

I didn’t read the linked article, but you mentioned the disability. Cancer, in and of itself, is not a qualifying condition, but the accompanying depression and anxiety are. Every time I meet with, or get a call from one of my doctors, they ask “Are you ever depressed or anxious since being diagnosed?” I have to reply, “Are you fucking kidding me?”...

5. Ducti89

Ducti89 Ticketing Melka’s dirtbike.....

Youre covered under the ADA by that anxiety, Pete.

6. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Makes sense and totally absolutely and then some agree on the last line!

7. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Ahhhh, hadn't taken it out a level, that definitely would fit.

8. bigtime

bigtime Well-Known Member