1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New truck purchase

Discussion in 'General' started by evakat, Apr 19, 2020.

1. Knotcher

Knotcher Well-Known Member

If you aren't keeping a diesel truck that long or at least 150k you're doing it wrong.

2. shakazulu12

shakazulu12 Well-Known Member

I do home loans for a living. The vast majority of people only care about what the monthly payment is. They are never going to own a car outright. The most common response when I suggest that they should pay off their car and not buy another one so they can qualify for the house they want is "But I've never NOT had a car payment?!?!". I don't understand it, but it's just the way most people think and I've given up trying to talk people out of it anymore.

3. People get screwed on that kind of deal on anything, even bikes. Well, "screwed" isn't exactly right, because they willingly signed the papers.

My aunt bit on one of those "no payments for 6 months" deals on a Mitsubishi car. By the time she made the first payment, she was so far upside down on the car that she had to keep it until it was paid off.

4. NemesisR6

NemesisR6 Gristle McThornbody

Insane loan terms is one of the big reasons costs of things like cars/motorcycles/RVs/boats have skyrocketed in the last 20 or so years. People are so willing to sign up to a manageable payment rather than truly understanding just what they can afford.

I've lost count of the number of folks I know, and having a real good idea what they pull in each year, recently buying $75-100K fishing boats here in FL and opting for insane repayment terms just because the monthly payments are (barely) manageable.

ducnut likes this.
  5. I finance vehicles, because I don’t want to unass that much cash at one time. I liked to keep a good “oh shit” fund.