Power at Road A

Discussion in 'General' started by brianspeed3, May 27, 2013.

1. ToddClark

ToddClark f'n know it all

i was just there for 3 days this past weekend, and the only breakers that are in the panels are the 2 that the lights that are on the poles are connected to. If you want a 30 amp 110 for your small RV or a 50amp 240 for your big motorhome, then you'll need to use your own breaker (thats what i did this past weekend.)

2. ToddClark

like Mongo, i havent see anyone hurt, but the potential is most definitely there, the panels are scarey dangerous, no cover over the live bus at all. If youre unsure about what youre doing, it is VERY easy accidentally touch the live bus and fry yourself. With that being said, the panel i tapped into this past weekend (and yes, im an electrician and have been for the last 30 years), it was quite obvious SOMEONE had, not once, but twice, touched SOMETHING to the live bus, and there were two melted spots in the main copper bus and a huge carbon arc residue. You should definitely use EXTREME caution when opening up one of these panels, they are 200amp panels (based on the wire size feeding them), 220/240 volts, and will make a HUGE flash/boom if the wrong object is touched to the hot buss. And if you get hung up on it, you'll fry before it trips the main breaker feeding the panels.

3. kanatuna

kanatuna You can't polish a turd..

I always bring a gen...but it sucks. lol

4. tophyr

tophyr Grid Filler

48kW.. holy moly

5. beac83

beac83 "My safeword is bananna"

Yea, I saw evidence of unintentional arc welding in the one panel I looked at when I was last there as well.

If you do work in those hot panels, WEAR EYE PROTECTION. Safety glasses including UV protection. Not only will the arcing temporarily blind you, the UV from it will make it harder to recover. And little bits of molten copper and such will fly out into your face (assuming you aren't already dead).