1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ques for the business owners/attorneys/tax guys

Discussion in 'General' started by Scotty87, Aug 20, 2011.

1. fzr400tony

fzr400tony can't ride

As an accountant, I can tell you one thing that not one business person ever heard before they went into business for themselves; "that's a good idea."

Look at your friend's books and records and see how much he's really making. Understand that $30/lawn/week won't be there in non-rainy months and winter. Did you ask him why he quitting? What he hates about the business? If he's a friend, you probably have an idea, but ask for an honest answer.

It doesn't seem like you want to be a landscaper for a living and $390 for a day's work doesn't sound bad to me. However, I wouldn't spend the money right away. Make your estimated tax payments and save as much as you can year one to pay for things that come up.

2. Mblashfield

Mblashfield Well-Known Member

I understood this to be a " side job" and not a career move?

3. charles

charles The Transporter

:D...trimming the bushes in Ethiopia is highly regarded, same as here...

4. MidnightRun

MidnightRun Well-Known Member

Is this a side income or a global take over? For what you're talking about go to walmart and get a receipt book, a stamp with your name on it and go cut grass. Leave the bill tucked in the front door on your way out. If you have a plain truck with no business name on the doors most people will think you're just helping your friends and family. Now if you're a blooming idiot thats always fucking up......then i might rethink this strategy. good luck

5. burner42

burner42 Well-Known Member