Motorcycle industry "career" options

Discussion in 'General' started by Zephyr, Apr 3, 2011.

1. Zephyr

Zephyr Tank Killer

So the economy sucks and the powersports industry isnt what it used to be.... But since I got retarded grades in school and I currently work in a factory busting my butt for $250 per 40hr work week while getting treated like a brainless robot slave I figure there must be something better out there. I'm 21 and dont feel like living in a factory such as this for 40 years.

I've been thinking about the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute and other such schools but most of that seems too good to be true. So whats the word on such a school from someone who has been through it?

Obviously I have a passion for racing and "performance" but what would such a school offer someone who is into that kinda stuff? A job on any race team would be pretty cool.... even if I were just changing tires. But is that outa the question here?

2. 418

418 Expert #59

No.

3. Zephyr

Zephyr Tank Killer

I am humbled by your answer. I will go meditate on this wisdom

4. 418

418 Expert #59

What I hear from you post is...I want to make the same money that I am making now but I want a student loan on top of that.

If you want to work at a dealership, do so but don't spend a shit ton of money to find out it's not all it's cracked up to be unless you're working for yourself. And then, it's still a tough business.

5. Zephyr

Zephyr Tank Killer

So... It's a waste of money? What school did you take?

6. Alter Ego

Alter Ego Registered User

I think what he is trying to say is try it before you buy it.

7. 418

418 Expert #59

Good friend of mine took MMI in FL, this is before it got f%$king expensive, Back then it was just expensive. No it wasn't a waste of money but don't think for a second that getting out of MMI is going to get you anything better than a $9.00/hr gig.